1 of 112
This is the worst Gransfors Bruks axe I own in terms of quality control. I own 3 others (Small Forest, Outdoor, and Wildlife) and the Wilderness is my latest purchase. There are very large gaps (2-3mm) between the head and haft of the axe where you can slide a piece of paper and not hit any resistance until about halfway up the head. Very sloppy hafting and not at all of the same attention to care as my other Gransfors Bruks axes as those were hafted with no gaps. I contacted Ray Mears Bushcraft about my concerns and sent pictures and they told me that the gap is not a problem and if it becomes a problem to let them know. Fair enough, but I don't want to find out this is a problem that will cause a loose head when out on a trip or even just over time. I also contacted Gransfors Bruks and after waiting a very long time they replied dismissing the issue as being solved by the answer from Ray Mears Bushcraft. I am displeased with the quality of the axe and customer service from both Ray Mears Bushcraft and Gransfors Bruks. Update: I was offered a replacement handle for me to re-haft the axe myself to see if that clears up any issues with the gaps which are viewed as cosmetic . Short of replacing the axe, this is the next best resolution. I stand by my initial experience with the axe itself, but will modify my rating to 3/5 stars due to due to their customer service in trying to make it right.
Steve25th May, 2021
Woodlore's Reply - 15th June, 2021
Dear Steven, Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the axe you received from us and our customer service. According to our records it looks like you purchased this axe from us in May 2020 and made contact with us in June 2020 where we discussed the issue. After our initial conversation we had not heard from you any further and therefore concluded that you were happy with our comments. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us by email. With best wishes