Woodlore — School of Wilderness Bushcraft  

0
Rogue RB-5 Trans Africa Boots



Rogue

Rogue RB-5 Trans Africa Boots

£140.00

Brand: Rogue
Weight: 1540 g         40 reviews
The Rogue RB5 Trans Africa Boot is essentially a premium, water-resistant version of their classic RB2 Trail Boot. Made in South Africa, the boot was specially developed for the Cape to Cairo walk in 1998 as a hard-working trail/walking boot, and has been worn exclusively by Wilderness Trail Guides in the Kruger National Park since 2003.

The Rogue RB5 Boot is made using superior African leathers, features a water-resistant outer, waterproof insole and is comfortable from the first use. Scratch marks and scars occur naturally on these hides; these marks should give your boots the unique rugged 'bushveld' look, indicative of the African outdoors!

When we started making footwear in 1976, we set out to make functional, hard-working and durable footwear, using superior leathers, soles and quality fittings. All our footwear is constructed using the tried-and-tested 'Stitchdown' method for comfort. Our shoe moulds are all in half-sizes for a more generous and spacious fit.


Details:
  • Water-resistant outer (not waterproof)
  • Waterproof insole thanks to a layering of ripstock canvas
  • Full-grain leather uppers
  • Partly lined with full-grain leather
  • Ball-bearing easy-roller lace loops for quick tightening
  • Lace lock
  • Full bellowed tongue
  • Padded ankle support
  • Moulded rubber sole (please note that sole design may vary)
  • A generous and spacious fit
  • Colour: Oxblood (please note that leather may vary in shade)
  • Weight: 1.5 kg in size 9 1/2
  • Please note that the colour of laces may vary

Shipping

  Delivery in 1-2 days within the United Kingdom
  UK Orders placed before 2PM GMT will be dispatched the same working day
  Overseas delivery times will vary depending on the destination


Please note that our offices are closed at weekends, so any orders placed after 2PM GMT on a Friday will not be dispatched until the following Monday.

Orders with a total value over £300.00 will be dispatched free via a next day delivery service within the UK at no extra cost.

Please note that in some instances, orders for heavy items may take an extra day to arrive.


  Overseas deliveries
For overseas deliveries, please refer to the following estimated delivery times:

  • Europe: 3 - 5 working days
  • Rest of the world: 5 - 7 working days

Returns

A full refund or exchange will be given provided that the items have not been worn or used, and are returned to us within 30 days of purchase, together with all relative labels and packaging. You are responsible for the cost of returning items.

Please ensure that you include a copy of your invoice, along with an explanation of why you have returned your goods. If you wish to return your goods for any reason, please do so to the following address:

Woodlore Limited
PO Box 3
Etchingham
East Sussex
TN19 7ZE
United Kingdom

Product Reviews

Rogue RB-5 Trans Africa Boots is rated 5/5 based on 40 customer reviews.

All of our product reviews are from customers with verified purchases.

Overall Rating:

  (30)
 
  (6)
 
  (2)
 
  (0)
 
  (2)
 



  1 of 40

  One month review! very short break in time, one walk and basically perfect. They are spacious, I'm normally a UK 11/12 (wide feet), the size 10.5 fits great. They're breathable as well, I live in Indonesia and they're more then comfortable in the day to day heat and humidity. Only gripe would be a slight inconsistency with one part of the stitching, purely aesthetic.  

  Thom
9th September, 2019

Rated: 5/5

  2 of 40

  Great boots and really pleased. Took a little wearing in but persevered and they are now brilliant. Would recommend double skin socks (like 1000 mile) during the first few times out.  

  S R Heape
2nd September, 2019

Rated: 5/5

  3 of 40

  I live in a boggy and wet part of the world with few trails and lots of tramping through wet tussocky grass and heather/sphagnum moss. Like a previous reviewer, I have long given up hope that gore-tex lined boots will ever really keep me dry in the real world as they start to degrade and fail rather quickly with regular use so that I had to resort to wearing waterproof socks inside the so-called waterproof boots. So I decided to try these boots out with waterproof socks and see how they compared to lined boots, the advantage being you are not left with a water-logged liner that tends to keep the water trapped in your boot. Well, they work just fine in wet conditions - I took them for a spin on a hill-walk with intermittent rain and a lot of wet boggy grass. Of course they let water in but the waterproof socks kept my feet pretty dry and overall the combination was drier than having a 'waterproof' boot! So, here you have a boot, that with the appropriate socks, will work well in hot or wet and cold conditions (barring of course when crampons are needed!) An added bonus is that all my previous boots would have the same problem of the glue binding the sole to the leather starting to fail around the big toe after a few months/years, even when well cleaned and looked after - this shouldn't happen with these boots as the soles are stitched on. The sole is grippy, they are comfortable and pretty light to wear. Time will tell if they are durable, but so far very happy with them.  

  Tom
1st September, 2019

Rated: 4/5

  4 of 40

  I have a couple of pairs of rogue boots, they end up feeling like I was wearing slippers. Sizing can be a little odd, I think this is because of their handmade nature, other than that wonderful to wear.  

  Ma
16th April, 2019

Rated: 5/5

  5 of 40

  Terrific pair of boots, I’ve been after these for ages, highly recommended. Great service and speedy delivery as I’ve come to expect from Woodlore.  

  Tobin Spence
20th November, 2018

Rated: 5/5

  6 of 40

  I'm a great believer in you get what you pay for but sadly I feel that this is not the case with the Rogue RB-5. Yes it's comfortable from the first wear but having treated my boots as per the retailer's instructions I walked through wet grass and my socks and feet were wet.... not what I expected for £140! I contacted Woodlore and their response was quick and positive which has always been my experience in the past. The boots were returned at my expense but unfortunately I was advised that following inspection there was nothing wrong with them. I was then advised to use waterproof socks! The boots have been sent back to me despite my attempts to obtain a suitable replacement or refund and even though I have treated them for a second time I have worn them again with the same result.... wet feet and socks. I'm disappointed with the customer service I have received but most importantly with the quality of the product. An expensive mistake for me unfortunately :(  


  Philip Taylor
29th October, 2018

Rated: 1/5

Woodlore's Reply - 30th October, 2018
Dear Philip, thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our customer service and the quality of the boots you purchased from us. The Rogue range of boots are designed with the African bush in mind and therefore are not waterproof. The RB-5 Boots are more water resistant than the RB-2, but they are still not waterproof and wet will be able to get to your feet when the leather becomes saturated. We were unable to find any faults with your returned boots after close inspection and were therefore sadly unable to offer a refund or exchange. We apologise again for any disappointment.

  7 of 40

  I bought these boots from Woodlore in November 2017. I have been using them for nearly eleven months. Delivery was, as usual, very quick. It was clear on first inspection that they were soundly constructed, and quite different from the boots normally available in British high street stores. However it seemed that the leather uppers, although of good quality, were rather stiff and dry. When I wore them, I discovered that the front line of the laced area was tending to press down on my feet just behind the toes. As a result I could only walk a mile or two before developing sore patches there. I decided one day to try them on an outing to Chester Zoo. Once inside I found that the paths had been salted to remove snow and ice. The water and salt quickly got into the leather. My feet were wet and cold. When I returned home, and the boots had been allowed to dry naturally, I saw that the leather was stained in places by the salt. There is advice available on-line about removing salt from leather. I was able to remove the salt, and then started a programme of regular attention using boot polish, and, very occasionally, small amounts of dubbin. Eventually the leather became much softer, and the toe pressure problem was completely resolved. The leather takes a good polish, so that the boots look surprisingly smart. I am using them typically two or three times a week, including one walk of about seven or eight miles. After a rather poor start, they appear, in the long run, to be durable and reliable. My suggestion to any purchaser would be to consider treating the leather carefully and regularly from the outset. It may take some time before they become suitable for extended outings.  

  Steve Smith
12th October, 2018

Rated: 3/5

  8 of 40

  Over years I've purchased many items from Woodlore and they have all been an excellent 5 star, until now. I've only given these boots 3 stars. The color is way out from the web site photo. I know color of leather cannot be guaranteed but these very dark brown are almost a black. The tread on the soles are different and the laces are plain brown. I purchased a size smaller (as to other reviews) and I'm glad that I did. They fit fine and are spacious, but they are not the most comfy boots I've worn. I find them hard on the foot, so I'll have to add a good quality insole asap. There is an annoying leather flap join on the upper inside of the heel which may cause blisters, but until I give them a good walk I am not sure if that will happen. The white stitching around the boot shows up like a sore thumb and doesn't blend. Saying all that, although I'm a little disappointed, they do look like a sturdy boot. Not quite up to measure as in past items I've bought but the service was great as normal.  

  John De Leigh
14th July, 2018

Rated: 3/5

  9 of 40

  Incredibly comfortable from the outset, after two weeks of wear they’re like an old pair of slippers. These should keep my feet dry for many years to come.  

  Jon Butler
21st May, 2018

Rated: 5/5

  10 of 40

  Not much I can add to the reviews already submitted, good quality walking boot comfy straight out of the box. I have only been on dry walks in The Yorkshire Dales so far so can't comment on waterproofing. I would highly recommend.  

  D B Baker
16th May, 2018

Rated: 5/5




  Share your opinion!

Let other people know your thoughts on this product.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to frequently asked questions on this item can be found here. If you have a question about this product, please contact us.

Are these boots waterpoof?


No. The Rogue range of boots are designed with the African bush in mind and therefore are not waterproof.

© 2019 Woodlore Ltd · Terms & Conditions · Privacy & Cookie policy · All Rights Reserved.